Suite Drottning Christina

Commissioned for the Rose Ensemble for a concert focusing on the life of Queen Christina of Sweden, a colorful 17th-century monarch whose intellectual vivacity and arts patronage earned her the soubriquet "Pallas of the North" after Athena, goddess of civilization and wisdom. The text was written by Georg Stiernhielm as part of a ballet performed for the Queen's 23rd birthday. To add some variety to the relentless meter of the poem, and to pay homage to some of the composers that Christina brought to her court, I have set it as a French dance suite: Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gavotte, and Gigue. It is accompanied by viola da gamba, archlute, and two violins. The vocal writing takes advantage of the wonderful flexibility of the Rose Ensemble, and so includes many solo parts and varied vocal combinations.

Commissioned by: 

The Rose Ensemble

Published by: 

Fresh Ayre Music
Item Voicing Perusal scores/Recordings Price
FAM-0060-01 SATB (div), soli, 2 vlns, gtr, vc